Skip to main content

Dylan Boenning, Owen Bolles Co-Champs In Boy’s Championship Division; Lauren Nau Claims First Place At New Year’s Classic

By January 29, 2024February 20th, 2024No Comments

The 2024 New Year Classic kicked off January 27-28 with junior golfers ages 8-18 from across the Valley competing in five age groups at Raven Golf Club, Arizona Biltmore Golf Club and Ken McDonald. With nearly 70 junior golfers competing in the Boys Championship division at Raven Golf Club, it was one of the biggest turnouts in tournament history. Eventual co-winner Owen Bolles of Chandler jumped out to an early lead after his phenomenal first round 65 (-7), tied for lowest score in his JGAA career. Bolles’ record first round was highlighted by a five-under 31 on the front nine to come running out of the gates with a commanding lead early in the tournament. In the final round, Bolles started to lose steam and allowed his fellow competitors to creep back into contention, including Trey Moore of Scottsdale after two steady rounds (69-72) and Dylan Boenning of Phoenix (71-70) who moved up six spots to wind up tied at the top with Bolles at the end of regulation. All three of them at three-under par, headed to a playoff to determine the victor. However, due to darkness the playoff only lasted for one hole in which Bolles and Boenning were still tied, and Moore lagged one shot back. They were both declared champion in the Boys division, while Trey Moore of Scottsdale slid into third place at three-under par. Braiden Scheich of Colorado and Ajay Morris of Avondale each finished T4 at two-under par.

Held at Arizona Biltmore’s brand-new Estates Course, Lauren Nau of Scottsdale goes back-to-back at the New Year’s Classic after last year’s victory in the Girls 15-18 division. She began the tournament setting the tone for the rest of the field after firing off an impressive three-under 68 with five birdies. Heavy winds in the second round made for difficult playing conditions and much higher scores. Nau was no exception, as she didn’t fare well with a final-round 81 but managed to hold on to her narrow lead at the top. She ended up winning by one stroke at seven-over par (68-81), ahead of Nikki Bowen of Surprise and Aadyn Long of Utah who both tied for runner up at eight-over par. Kate Hauptman of Phoenix shot rounds of 79-72 to finish in fourth place at nine-over par.

In the Boys 15-18 division competition held at Raven, Oliver De Guia of Tucson shot +3, with rounds of 75-72 to win. At Ken McDonald Golf Course, Parker Servoss of Tucson finished at five-under-par 139 (72-67) to win the Boys 13-14 division by an imposing six strokes. Andrew Kung of Phoenix (36-34) took first place at two-under par in the Boys 11-12 division to win by three strokes. Jackson Frey of Peoria (36-36) clutched up in a playoff against Kyle Wojtcuk of Waddell to win in Boys 10 and Under division at even par.

On Arizona Biltmore’s Estates Course, Isabel Helgemoe of Scottsdale won in the Girls 15-18 Division at 13-over par (78-77). At Ken McDonald Golf Course, Addison Taylor of Scottsdale repeats at the New Year’s Classic, winning the Girls 13-14 Division at 1-over par (75-70). Kimsey Terrell of Phoenix, who tied for first last year in the Girls 10 and Under division, won the Girls 11-12 division at 6-over par (41-37). Amy Xuan of Chandler earned first place honors in the Girls 10 and Under division at 2-over par (39-35).