Skip to main content

Owen Bolles and Izzy Piazza Win 2023 New Year Classic

By January 31, 2023No Comments


The New Year Classic kicked off January 28-29, with nearly 60 junior golfers competing in the Boys Championship division at Raven Golf Club. Eventual winner Owen Bolles of Chandler and Kendall McCain of Flagstaff jumped out to the first-round lead after both fired 4-under 68. In the second round, Bolles put up another 68 to reach -8, while Brasen Briones of Tucson, who started two strokes back with a first-round 70, slid into second place at -6, with a 68 of his own. Adam Miller of Phoenix and Henry Dall of Scottsdale both shot 70-69 to finished tied for fourth place at -5.

Held at Arizona Biltmore’s Adobe Course, Izzy Piazza of Phoenix came out on top of the competition in the Girls Championship division. Tied for the first-round lead at 1-under-par 70, she fired a final-round 4-under 67 to finish at -5 for the championship, four strokes ahead of Kaitlyn Helm (70-71) of Litchfield Park who came in at -1. Eva Heinz of Goodyear shot rounds of 71-72 to finish in third place at 1-over par.

In the Boys 15-18 division competition held at Raven, Jake Goyen of Mesa shot +3, with rounds of 74-73 to win. At Ken McDonald Golf Course, Ethan Butters of Chandler finished at 9-under-par 135 (70-65) to win the Boys 13-14 division. Sam Meltzer of Paradise Valley (38-34) took first place at even-par in the Boys 11-12 division. Cam Abood (40-34) of Paradise Valley won in Boys 10 and Under division at +2.

On Arizona Biltmore’s Adobe Course, Lauren Nau of Scottsdale won in the Girls 15-18 Division at 2-over par (77-67). At Ken McDonald Golf Course Hannah Nguyen won the Girls 13-14 Division at 8-over par (74-78). Addison Taylor of Scottsdale won the Girls 11-12 division at 6-over par (41-37). Claire Brooks of Phoenix and Kimsey Terrell of Phoenix tied for first place in the Girls 10 and Under division at 2-over par (37-37).