Skip to main content

Arizona Finishes Eighth in 51st Hogan Cup

By August 13, 2019No Comments

Team Arizona – made up of Daniel Thompson, Noah Nuez, Mason Quagliata and Zack Missigman – came in eight place in the 51st Hogan Cup held at Riverside Golf & Country Club in Portland, Oregon, August 9-11.

(left to right) Daniel Thompson, Zack Missigman, Noah Nuez, Mason Quagliata

In the four-person-team format, the three lowest individual scores each day determine the team total score. Team Arizona began by shooting 3-over-par 111 on the front nine in the first round followed by a 4-over-par 112 on the back nine to finish at 7-over-par 223 for the first round. They then shot a 6-over 114 and 9-over 117 for the front and back nines (respectively) to finish the final round at 15-over-par 231 for the second round. Combined, the total came to 22-over-par 454, which placed Team Arizona in solo eighth place. Team Oregon won the team championship at 2-under-par 430 (221-209).

Individually, Quagliata led Team Arizona with a 2-over-par performance highlighted by a seven-hole stretch with four birdies in round one. His rounds of 70-76 earned T8 honors, six strokes off the pace set by Luke Potter of San Diego. Missigman finished at 7-over-par 151 with rounds of 74-77, for a T23 finish. Daniel Thompson finished T39 at 15-over-par 159 (81-78). And Noah Nuez was forced to withdraw due to injury.

Click here for complete tournament results.

About the Eddie Hogan Cup

The event began in 1969 in commemoration of the vast achievements and contributions to the sport by Eddie Hogan, Riverside’s long-time head golf professional who served the club from 1939 until his tragic drowning death in 1968. Hogan, an Oregon Amateur champion and PNGA Amateur champion, was credited for transforming the role of the golf professional, developing what is now considered the standard for the green grass pro shop. Hogan was also dedicated in helping the Oregon Golf Association develop its widely recognized junior golf program.

Hogan Cup alumni include tour players such as Tiger Woods, Rickie Fowler, Fred Couples, Bryson DeChambeau, Casey Martin, Peter Jacobsen, Jeff Quinney, Patrick Cantlay, Bobby Clampett, Lennie Clements, Scott Simpson, Robert Gamez, Bill Sanders, Kirk Triplett, John Fought and Jason Gore.