Skip to main content

Rylan Johnson and Eva Heinz Win Mesa City Jr Championship

By July 6, 2021July 8th, 2021No Comments
JGAA members advance to IMG Jr World Championship.


Rylan Johnson of Gilbert shot a first round 9-under-par 63 at Dobson Ranch to set a stiff pace as well as a four-stroke lead in the Boys Championship division. Already heating up on the front nine, his game caught fire on the back with a spectacular 7-under 28 on the way in.

In the second round Phoenix residents Alan Quezada and Gavin Aurilia gave chase – both amazingly going 7-under par for the final 10 holes – en route to 63s of their own. Johnson then closed the door with a 65 to win the 2021 Mesa City Jr Championship at blistering -16. Aurilia, bound for USC in the fall, and Quezada both shot 67-63 to finish T2.  

The Mesa City Jr Championship also serves as a local qualifier for the IMG Academy Junior World Golf Championship to be held in San Diego July 12-16. By virtue of their finishes, Quezada, Aurilia, Jack Dozer (4) and Dallin Delgado (T5) advanced.

Fresh off a big win only days ago at the season’s final PING Junior Masters Series tournament – Willie Low Invitational – Chandler’s Jennifer Seo jumped out to the first round lead after a 1-under 71 at Toka Sticks Golf Club. In the second round, Eva Heinz of Goodyear erased Johnson’s lead with a 3-under 69 to move into a tie for first place with Anya Mathur of Scottsdale, who cruised along with rounds of 73-72.

After two extra holes, Heinz took home the Girls Championship division title, Mather earned second and Seo settled into third place. Heinz also qualified for the IMG Jr World Championship alongside Abigail Morris, Madeline Adam and Emily Swagger.

At Dobson Ranch, Andrew Bowers of Oro Valley won the Boys 15-18 division at 3-under par (73-68—141). In the Girls 15-18 division contested at Toka Sticks Emilee Swagger of Goodyear came out on top, posting a 10-over-par 154 (79-75).

Ajay Morris of Avondale won at View Point Golf Resort in the Boys 13-14 division at 4-under par (69-69—138). Already a qualifier, Morris will be joined at the IMG Jr World Championship by Oliver Uribe, Scottie Belgrade, Brennan Korn and Dylan Boenning.

In the Girls 13-14 division Natalia Lamadrid (75-71) of Scottsdale prevailed in a playoff over Angela Zhikun Chen (74-72) of Chandler after both finished tied for first place at +4 and both qualified for the IMG Jr World Championship.

Nathan Ash of Tempe shot 4-under par (65-73—138) to win the Boys 11-12 division, contested at Viewpoint Golf Resort. He, Jamieson Chaidez and John Meza qualified for the IMG Jr World Championship.

Hannah Nguyen of Phoenix won the Girls 11-12 division at 16-over par (77-81—158). She will be joined by Finley Foshie at the IMG Jr World Championship.

Hagen Lancaster (73-72) of Anthem won the Boys 10 and Under division in a playoff over Brody Olayvar (76-79) of Tucson. And Christina Seder of Mesa won in the Girls 10 and Under division at 32-over-par 174 (87-87). 



The 2021 IMG Academy Junior World Championships tees off July 12-16. From its humble beginnings in 1952 with a group of 50 young players at the then Mission Valley Country Club, today the IMG Academy Junior World Golf Championships has grown to host 1,200 participants representing 56 countries and 42 states. The tournament is the largest international event in the world and is uniquely recognized for its cultural diversity. Hosted at famed Torrey Pines as well as other San-Diego-area clubs, in 1968 John W Brown, A.S. “Lou” Smith and Norrie West decided the San Diego Junior Golf Association would host the Junior World Golf Championships to create a tournament where juniors from all parts of the world could come together to play golf and grow culturally.

In all 46 Arizona junior golfers qualified to compete in the 2021 event during two locally held qualifying tournaments:  IMG Academy Junior World Qualifier, April 17-18 and Mesa City JR Championship, June 30-July 1.

2021 AZ Qualifiers:  IMG Academy Junior World Championships


  Boys Girls
15-18 Rylan Johnson Jennifer Seo
  Mahanth Chirravuri (WD) Gracie McGovern
  Adam Miller Calynne Rosholt
  Max Lyons Sammie Olson
  Johnny Walker Eva Heinz
  Alan Quezada Abigail Morris
  Gavin Aurilia Madeline Adam
  Jack Dozer Emily Swagger
  Dallin Delgado Makenzie Cooper
  Brayden Bozak  Aaryanna Morris
  Charlie Palmer  
  Jorge Parada Wiley  
  Anawin Pikulthong  
  Kyle Wandel  
13-14 Scottie Belgrade Katherine Taylor
  Owen Bolles Kaitlyn Helm
  Joey Hage Alexis Vakasiuola
  Dylan Boenning Anya Mathur
  Joseph Nelson Natalia Lamadrid
  Oliver Uribe Angela Chen
  Ajay Morris Brynn Kort
  Brennan Korn  
  Alec Hilgers  
  Shravan Ramesh   
11-12 Zachary Schaefer Kaitlyn Moreland
  Arjun Somani Peyton DeCosta
  Owen Setters Finley Foshie (Joshua Foshie?)
  Nathan Ash Aubrey Hilgers
  Jamieson Chaidez Alexis Lamadrid
  John Meza Ashley Shaw
9-10 Apollo Lynch Beau Ellington
  Ian Kennedy Hannah Nnguyen
  Brody Olayvar Caroline Brooks
    Claire Brooks