Skip to main content

Max Engel and Aleksia Mikalacki Post Wins at the Thunderbird High School Senior Classic

By May 22, 2018May 29th, 2018No Comments

Each year The Thunderbirds and the JGAA host a special one-round tournament at Gainey Ranch Golf Club to honor Arizona’s senior class of high school golfers who played during the 2017-2018 season.

Desert Mountain’s Max Engel, who is bound for Colorado School of Mines, finished in first place in the Boys Division with a 4-under-par 68, two strokes ahead of second-place finisher Logan Eatherton of Williams Field High School. Soon to be Sun Devil, Davis Evans of Desert Vista High School came in third place with a 71.

In the Girls Division, Katelyn Allen of Pinnacle High School, on her way to Creighton University, finished tied for first place with Chaparral’s Aleksia Mikalacki at 1-over-par 73. Mikalacki prevailed in a scorecard playoff tiebreaker. Cayla Clark of Hamilton High School came in third place with a 77. She will play golf for Dixie State University in the fall.

“This event is just a fun way to say farewell and best of luck to our members who, in many cases, have been playing in JGAA events with us since they were in grade school,” said Scott McNevin, Executive Director of the JGAA. “It’s more of a casual atmosphere that allows the players to have a little fun as their high school golf careers end and their college careers begin.”

In total, 27 JGAA members earned college golf scholarships for next season- 

Abe Elmore Winona State
Andrew Webb Northwest Christian University
Anya Ross Minot State University
Blake Lorenz University of Oklahoma
Cade Weber University of Kansas
Cameron Barzekoff Boise State
Cayla Clark Dixie State University
Davis Evans Arizona State University
Hannah May Southern New Hampshire University
Hallie Lawson Pima Community College
Jack Call Fort Lewis College
Jack Picton Valparaiso University
Jack Whisler University of San Diego
Jonathan Walters Western Carolina University
Kaitlynn Criswell Minot State University
Katie Allen Creighton University
Katie Wilson Creighton University
Kelly Su Northwestern
Madasyn Pettersen Grand Canyon University
Mason Nam Lipscomb University
Max Engel Colorado School of Mines
Nick Hedman Grand Canyon University
Ryan Moquin Hofstra University
Sloane Van Zanen Stonehill College
Sydnee DiMascio Chapman University
Turner Kahn Paradise Valley
Tyler Coxworth Mesa Community College

About The Thunderbirds

The Thunderbirds were founded in 1937 with the mission of promoting the Valley of the Sun through sports. Consisting of 55 “active” members and more than 250 “life” members, The Thunderbirds host the Waste Management Phoenix Open; the best-attended golf tournament in the world, which to date has raised nearly $100 million for Valley charities, including The First Tee of Phoenix. With its unmatched fan participation and rich history dating back more than 80 years, The Waste Management Phoenix Open has gained legendary status for being a unique stop on the PGA TOUR. For more information on The Thunderbirds or the Waste Management Phoenix Open, call 602.870.0163 or visit