Skip to main content

JGAA Honors Standout Junior Golfers at 2017 Awards Banquet

By October 23, 2017No Comments

Boyd Summerhays

The 2017 JGAA Awards Banquet was held October 21 at Moon Valley Country Club. Boyd Summerhays, professional golfer and renowned local golf instructor, was the guest speaker for the event where Player of the Year and Sportsmanship Awards were handed out across five age divisions.

“As the busy 2017 season comes to an end, it’s fun to look back at all the accomplishments,” said Scott McNevin, Executive Director of the JGAA. “In many cases it’s very difficult to settle on a winner. Congratulations to the finalist as well as every JGAA member. They all deserve it.”    

For the second consecutive year, Ashley Menne, 15, earned the Player of the Year Award in the Girls Championship Division with a 69.7 scoring average. She won 13 of the 19 JGAA tournaments she entered this season without finishing higher than third place. As the No. 1 ranked junior girl golfer in Arizona, 45th overall, Menne also competed on team Arizona in the Girls Junior America’s Cup, USGA Women’s State Team as well as the U.S. Girl’s Junior.

In the Boys Championship Division, Daniel Thompson, 14, took the Player of the Year honors with a scoring average of 72.7. Thompson finished top-5 in 8 of the 19 JGAA events he entered, and posted two wins, both in coveted Junior Masters Series tournaments. He also competed on the Arizona team in the Junior America’s Cup.   

2017 JGAA Awards Recipients

Player of the Year Award

  • Boys Championship: Daniel Thompson – Phoenix, AZ
  • Girls Championship: Ashley Menne – Surprise, AZ
  • Boys 15-18: Noah Nuez – Laveen, AZ
  • Girls 15-18: Brooke Beyer – Mesa, AZ
  • Boys 13-14: Johnnie Clark – Mesa, AZ
  • Girls 13-14: Madeline Adam – Chandler, AZ
  • Boys 11-12: Nicklas Nuez – Laveen, AZ
  • Girls 11-12: Brooke McGlasson – Peoria, AZ
  • Boys 10 & Under: Brennan Korn – Phoenix, AZ
  • Girls 10 & Under: Natalia Lamadrid – Phoenix, AZ

Sportsmanship of the Year Awards

  • Boys Championship: Max Engel – Scottsdale, AZ
  • Girls Championship: Breyana Matthews – Scottsdale, AZ
  • Boys 15-18: Tyler Macpherson – Gilbert, AZ
  • Girls 15-18: Holly Otlewski – Phoenix, AZ
  • Boys 13-14: Bryan Beyer – Mesa, AZ
  • Girls 13-14: Sydney Seigel – Scottsdale, AZ
  • Boys 11-12: Oscar Uribe – Scottsdale, AZ
  • Girls 11-12: Annie Dawson – Phoenix, AZ
  • Boys 10-Under: Ryan Johnson – Scottsdale, AZ
  • Girls 10-Under: Aubrey Hilgers – Litchfield Park, AZ

Most Improved Awards

  • Boys: Alexander Lindquist: 2016 – 101.0; 2017 – 92.2
  • Girls: Sydnee DiMascio: 2016 – 101.2; 2017 – 88.4

Volunteer of the Year

  • Steve Tomlinson

Hole-in-One Awards

  • Annabelle Huether – 3/25; AM&E Classic; #2 Moon Valley Country Club; 156-yard hybrid
  • Blake Hammarstrom – 6/08; Antigua Milt Coggins AZ Junior Stroke Play; #13 Grand Canyon University GC; 143-yard wedge
  • Arianna Medina – 7/12; Prescott City Junior Championship; #16 Antelope Hills GC; 117 yards
  • Bailey Anderson – 7/19; PING Arizona Junior Masters; #12 ASU Karsten GC; 146-yard 5-iron
  • Mason Quagliata – 7/27; Maricopa Junior Championship; #4 Southern Dunes GC; 152-yard 8-iron