Skip to main content

Andrew Proctor and Faith D’Ortenzio Post Wins at the Thunderbird High School Senior Classic

By May 23, 2017No Comments

Each year The Thunderbirds and the JGAA host a special one-round tournament at Gainey Ranch Golf Club to honor Arizona’s senior class of high school golfers who played during the 2016-2017 season.

Hamilton High School’s Andrew Proctor finished in first place in the Boys Division with a one-over-par 73, one stroke ahead of second-place finisher Branden Meyer of Campo Verde High School. Isaac Spillum of Pinnacle High School came in third place with a 76.

In the Girls Division, Shadow Mountain High School’s Faith D’Ortenzio shot a five-over-par 77 to edge out Bradshaw Mountain’s Anne Transier by a stroke, and Rebecca Meils of Cactus Shadows High School came in third place (82, +10).

“This event is just a fun way to say farewell and best of luck to our members who, in many cases, have been playing in JGAA events with us since they were in grade school,” said Scott McNevin, Executive Director of the JGAA.  “It’s more of a casual atmosphere that allows the players to have a little fun as their high school golf careers end and their college careers begin.”  


In total, 28 JGAA members earned college golf scholarships for next season:

Emily Mahar of Phoenix – Virginia Tech

Emma Lower of Chandler – University of Hawaii

Anne Transier of Prescott Valley – Seattle University

Mason Andersen of Chandler – Arizona State University

Faith D’Ortenzio of Phoenix – University of Montana

Noah Robinson of Glendale – Grand Canyon University 

Elizabeth Caldarelli of Scottsdale – Texas A&M

Alexis Linam of Sun City – Grand Canyon University 

Garrett deFisser of Gilbert – College of William and Mary

JJ Gresco of Scottsdale – University of Nevada Las Vegas

Gavin Cohen of Tucson – University of Arizona

Zach Burkholder of Chandler – Lubbock Christian University

Rachel Fujitani of Chandler – University of Iowa

Rachel Reynolds of Mission Viejo, CA – Biola University

Sabrina Scaccia of Mesa – Fort Lewis College

Reece Nilsen of Tucson – Rocky Mountain College

Isaac Spillum of Paradise Valley – University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Trevor Werbylo of Tucson – University of Arizona

Brian Seo of Phoenix – Grand Canyon University

Trevor Hecht of Tucson – College of William and Mary

Mike Finnegan of San Tan Valley – Missouri University of Science and Technology

Marisol Benavidez of Marana – South Mountain Community College

Arianna Medina of Phoenix – Oklahoma City University

Aaron Ramos of Goodyear – University of Arkansas, Little Rock

Andrew Proctor of Chandler – Ferris State University

Brock Goyen of Chandler – Brigham Young University

Tyler Svendson of Tempe – New Mexico State University

Matt Schwab of Chandler – University of Hartford


Full Results